Thomas Zaugg

Historiker, PhD, Postdoc

Einige meiner aktuellen Forschungsthemen in Bildausschnitten: die Piazza San Marco in Venedig 1963, die Sektion Vie catholique an der Weltausstellung 1935 in Brüssel, die Ausstellung zur schweizerischen Kulturpolitik 1943 und italienische Arbeiter in einer Fabrik in der Schweiz 1984.

News

Content from Vimeo can't be displayed due to your current cookie settings. To show this content, please click "Consent & Show" to confirm that necessary data will be transferred to Vimeo to enable this service. Further information can be found in our Privacy Policy. Changed your mind? You can revoke your consent at any time via your cookie settings.

Consent & Show

Die Amerikafahrer

Eliten aus Industrie, Handel und Gewerbe, Repräsentanten der Kunst- und Museumswelt und viele andere Berufsvertreter diskutieren seit 1924 im Rotary Club Zürich über – fast alles. Neben Privatem aus dem Leben der Clubmitglieder enthalten die Lunchprotokolle viel Politisches: soziale Utopien aus den 1920er Jahren, bürgerliche Krisenrezepte aus den 1930er Jahren, Reiseberichte aus der Sowjetunion und NS-Deutschland. Die katholische Frauenrechtlerin Gertrud Heinzelmann hielt 1958 anlässlich der Schweizerischen Ausstellung für Frauenarbeit (SAFFA) einen der seltenen Vorträge von Frauen.

Vor allem sehnten sich die Zürcher Rotarier nach Amerika. Es war das Land der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten. Doch scheuten sie nicht davor zurück, es zu hinterfragen. Davon unter anderem handelt mein Artikel, hier mit Quellenausschnitten in einer Hörfassung, gelesen von Martin Butzke.

Bei Rüffer & Rub kann der Sammelband von Georg Kohler und Niklaus Peter vorbestellt werden, mit weiteren Beiträgen von Claudia Franziska Brühwiler (über die USA zur Gründungszeit von Rotary um 1905) und Carl-Hans Hauptmeyer (über die deutschen Rotarier im Nationalsozialismus).

KADOC-Seminarreihe Religion, Kultur und Gesellschaft 2024

Am 2. Mai 2024 halte ich in Leuven ein Seminar zu meinen Forschungen in den KADOC-Sammlungen. Die Einführung hält Patrick Pasture. Anmeldungen sind willkommen unter https://kadoc.kuleuven.be/english/3_research/31_ourresearch/workshops/2024/2024_seminaries. Wir werden über die längerfristigen Hintergründe der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Umstrukturierung Westeuropas zwischen den 1920er und 1950er Jahren diskutieren.

Erinnerungsräume

Die Reihe „Erinnerungsräume“ will ein innovativer Ort für die transdisziplinäre kultur- und sozialwissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit Themen der Erinnerungskonstruktion und -vermittlung in Literatur und Kunst, Medien, Schule und Öffentlichkeit in gegenwärtigen und vergangenen Gesellschaften sein. Mein Beitrag ist der Aneignung der modernen Kirchenarchitektur und des wirtschaftlichen Korporatismus aus der Perspektive junger Katholiken in der Zwischenkriegszeit und nach 1945 gewidmet. Der von Prof. Dr. Franziska Metzger und Prof. em. Dr. Dimiter Daphinoff herausgegebene Sammelband wird 2025 bei Böhlau erscheinen.

Schweizer Kulturpolitik am Othmar Schoeck Festival

Wieso steht die Schwyzer Kulturförderung in der Kritik? Und warum begann die Schweizer Kulturpolitik in den 1930er Jahren? Am Othmar Schoeck Festival 2023 diskutierten wir kulturpolitische Themen zwischen vorgestern und übermorgen – eine angeregte Runde mit dem Initiator Bruno Steiner, Katrin Rieder, Markus Brülisauer, der Moderatorin Karin Landolt und dem Gastgeber Alvaro Schoeck. Unter kulturfragen.ch gibt es nun das ganze Gespräch.

KADOC-Fellowship 2024

Ich bin sehr dankbar für das KADOC-Stipendium 2024 für Religion, Kultur und Gesellschaft. KADOC ist das fakultätsübergreifende Dokumentations- und Forschungszentrum für Religion, Kultur und Gesellschaft an der KU Leuven. Das 1976 gegründete KADOC ist nicht nur eine der führenden Institutionen für kulturelles Erbe in Belgien, sondern auch ein internationales Zentrum für die Erforschung der Wechselwirkung zwischen Religion, Kultur und Gesellschaft im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert. Der Aufenthalt in Leuven wird mir die Möglichkeit geben, in den KADOC-Archiven zu forschen.

Neuer Artikel im Historischen Lexikon der Schweiz

Das HLS hat mehrere seiner Artikel über Mitglieder der Schweizer Regierung überarbeitet. Dazu gehört auch mein Artikel über Philipp Etter, in dem erstmals eine Tonaufnahme veröffentlicht wird. Siehe auch die Beiträge von Memoriav.

Neue Bücher

Der erste Schweizer Aussenminister

In ihren ersten Jahrzehnten hatte die moderne Schweiz keine Aussenpolitik. Man war der Ansicht, dass die Stärken des Landes in der Innenpolitik und nicht im äusseren Schein lagen. Numa Droz (1844–1899) aus Neuenburg erkannte die Notwendigkeit einer schweizerischen, von der Regierung gelenkten Aussenpolitik. 1875 im Alter von 31 Jahren als jüngster Bundesrat der Geschichte gewählt, wurde Droz 1887 Vorsteher des Politischen Departements. Urs Kramer hat an diesem Buch bis kurz vor seinem Tod gearbeitet. Ich habe es lektoriert und mit einer Einleitung versehen. Mit einem Vorwort von Prof. Dr. Tobias Straumann.

Biografie eines Langzeitpolitikers

Während seiner 25-jährigen Amtszeit von 1934 bis 1959 initiierte Philipp Etter (1891–1977) die Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia, setzte sich für das Romanische als vierte Landessprache ein, unterstützte den Ausbau der ETH und legte wichtige Grundlagen für die Einführung der AHV und IV.

Das umstrittene Bild eines autoritären, katholisch-konservativen Staatsmannes in den 1930er Jahren und während des Zweiten Weltkriegs blieb jedoch in der Öffentlichkeit und in der Forschung prägend.

Die Urteile über Etter reichten von „Pseudo-Mussolini“ über „uneingestandener Antisemit“ bis zum „patriotischen Unschweizer“. Der private Nachlass von Philipp Etter hat bisher unbekannte Aspekte dieser Persönlichkeit ans Licht gebracht.

Thomas Zaugg

Historian, PhD, postdoctoral researcher

Some of my recent research topics, summed up in pictures: Piazza San Marco in Venice in 1963, the Vie catholique section at the 1935 World’s Fair in Brussels, exposition of Swiss cultural policy in 1943 and Italian workers in a factory in Switzerland in 1984.

News

Content from Vimeo can't be displayed due to your current cookie settings. To show this content, please click "Consent & Show" to confirm that necessary data will be transferred to Vimeo to enable this service. Further information can be found in our Privacy Policy. Changed your mind? You can revoke your consent at any time via your cookie settings.

Consent & Show

The American Business Dream

Since 1924, elites from industry, trade and commerce, representatives of the art and museum business and many other professions have been discussing virtually everything at the Rotary Club Zurich. The minutes of their luncheons contain insightful information about the club members as well as great deal of politics: social utopias from the 1920s, middle-class recipes against the crisis of the 1930s, travel reports from the Soviet Union and Nazi Germany. In 1958, the Catholic women’s rights activist Gertrud Heinzelmann gave one of the rare lectures by women on the occasion of the Swiss Exhibition for Women’s Work (SAFFA).

Above all, the Zurich Rotarians were longing for America. It was the land of opportunity, but they were not afraid to question it. This is the focus of my article, available here with excerpts from sources and in an audio version, read by Martin Butzke.

The anthology by Georg Kohler and Niklaus Peter can be ordered from Rüffer & Rub, with further contributions by Claudia Franziska Brühwiler (on the United States at the time Rotary was founded at the turn of the century) and Carl-Hans Hauptmeyer (on German Rotarians during the Nazi regime).

Spaces of Memory

The publication series “Spaces of Memory” aims to provide an innovative platform for trans-disciplinary research in the field of memory studies. It focuses on the construction and mediation of narratives, discourses and images of memory in the public sphere, in literature, art, the media, educational institutions, both in present and past societies. My contribution is dedicated to the appropriation of modern church architecture and economic corporatism from young Catholics’ perspective in the interwar years and after 1945. The anthology edited by Prof. Dr. Franziska Metzger and Prof. em. Dr. Dimiter Daphinoff will be published by Böhlau in 2024.

Swiss cultural policy at the Othmar Schoeck Festival

Why is the funding of culture in the canton of Schwyz being criticized? And why did Swiss cultural policy begin in the 1930s? At the Othmar Schoeck Festival 2023, we discussed cultural policy topics from the day before yesterday to the day after tomorrow – a lively discussion with the initiator Bruno Steiner, Katrin Rieder, Markus Brülisauer, the moderator Karin Landolt and the host Alvaro Schoeck. The whole talk is now available at kulturfragen.ch.

KADOC Fellowship 2024

I am very grateful to have been awarded the KADOC Fellowship 2024 for Religion, Culture and Society. KADOC is the Interfaculty Documentation and Research Centre on Religion, Culture and Society at KU Leuven. Established in 1976, KADOC is not only one of the leading cultural heritage institutions in Belgium, but also an international centre for the study of the interaction between religion, culture and society in the 19th and 20th centuries. The stay in Leuven will give me the opportunity to conduct research in the KADOC archives.

New entry in the Historical Dictionary of Switzerland

The HLS has revised many of its articles on members of the Swiss government. These include my article on Philipp Etter, in which an audio recording is included for publication for the first time. See also the contributions from Memoriav.

Recent books

The first Swiss foreign minister

In the early decades, modern Switzerland had no foreign policy. It was widely believed that its strengths lay in domestic policy and not in external appearances. Numa Droz (1844–1899) from Neuchâtel was the first Federal Councillor to recognize the need for a Swiss foreign policy. Elected in 1875 at the age of 31 as the youngest Federal Councillor in history, Droz became head of the Political Department in 1887. Urs Kramer wrote this book until shortly before his death. I revised it and added an introduction. Foreword by Prof. Dr. Tobias Straumann.

Biography of a long-time politician

During his 25-year term of office from 1934 to 1959, Philipp Etter (1891–1977) initiated the Pro Helvetia cultural foundation, advocated Romansh as the fourth national language, supported the expansion of the ETH and laid important foundations for the introduction of the AHV and IV social security schemes.

However, the controversial image of an authoritarian, Catholic conservative statesman in the 1930s and during World War II remained influential both in the public eye and in research.

The verdicts on Etter have ranged from “pseudo-Mussolini” to “unacknowledged anti-Semite” and “patriotic non-Swiss”. Philipp Etter’s private estate has brought previously unknown aspects of this personality to light.